(Posted July 11, 2018)

Photo: Megan Brenneman

Photo: Megan Brenneman

Huntingdon, Pa.—Campus Compact of New York & Pennsylvania (CCNYPA), a newly merged single regional entity that combines New York’s and Pennsylvania’s Campus Compact organizations, has named Juniata College’s President James A. Troha its board chair.

Founded in 1985 by the presidents of Brown, Georgetown and Stanford Universities, along with the president of the Education Commission of the States, Campus Compact today is a national coalition of more than 1,000 colleges and universities committed to the public purposes of higher education. The coalition aims to build democracy through civic education and community development. Several state and regional Campus Compact chapters provide place-based support for member institutions across the United States.

“I am honored that the CCNYPA board has asked me to lead at this exciting and transitional time,” Troha says. “Juniata shares the values that are important to CCNYPA, namely the commitment to strengthening democracy by engaging our students and faculty with our communities to work on improving life on a local and immediate level. Such work helps everyone. It gives students meaningful experience with people and projects and it provides real value to communities that, whatever their size or issues, can always use help.”

The new regional organization, CCNYPA, recognizes operationally the ways in which New York- and Pennsylvania-based organizations have cooperated in the past to serve members through joint programming and funding.

Executive director Char Gray says, “By joining the New York and Pennsylvania Campus Compacts together we believe that our common mission, our joint strategic goals for serving members and our focus on leadership and capacity development will benefit our region more effectively than we can as separate entities.”

“Juniata shares the values that are important to CCNYPA, namely the commitment to strengthening democracy by engaging our students and faculty with our communities to work on improving life on a local and immediate level. Such work helps everyone." - James A. Troha, President of Juniata and Board Chair, CCNYPA

CCNYPA provides its 121 colleges and universities support in several ways, through grants to seed collaborative efforts to organize regional campus-community partnerships and for helping nonprofits ameliorate poverty; the Newman Civic Fellows, a national program for undergraduates who demonstrate exemplary leadership in their public work; a Public Dialogue series designed to facilitate important and difficult conversations at the campus level with civility and respect; and access to national institutes to engage faculty in honing their abilities with community-engaged teaching and learning.

Juniata College prioritizes community engagement as a tool for teaching and learning that also benefits the local and regional community. The College’s institutional learning goals for its students include the expectation of engagement with the self and the world through collaborative work in cultural settings from local to global, engaged citizenship and respectful interactions, and an understanding of how a holistic and intentional approach to life fosters wellbeing.


Complete list of CCNYPA member institutions: 

Pennsylvania: Albright College, Allegheny College, Alvernia University, Bryn Mawr College, Bucknell University, Cabrini College, Cedar Crest College, Chatham University, Clarion University, Community College of Allegheny County, DeSales University, Dickinson College, Drexel University, Duquesne University, Elizabethtown College, Franklin & Marshall College, Gannon University, Gettysburg College, Grove City College, Haverford College, Juniata College, King’s College, Kutztown University, Lafayette College, LaSalle University, Lehigh University, Lock Haven University, Messiah University, Millersville University, Misericordia University, Montgomery County Community College, Moravian College, Muhlenburg College, Neumann College, Northampton Community College, Penn State Berks, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, Robert Morris University, Saint Joseph’s University, Shippensburg University, Slippery Rock University, Susquehanna University, Swarthmore College, University of Pennsylvania, University of Pittsburgh, Ursinus College, Villanova University, Washington & Jefferson College, Waynesburg University, West Chester University, Westminster College, Widener University, Wilkes University, Wilson College, York College of Pennsylvania

New York:  Adelphi University, Alfred State College, Barnard College, Berkeley College, Binghamton University (SUNY), Buffalo State College (SUNY), Colgate University, Columbia University, Cornell University, Dominican College, Dutchess Community College, Farmingdale State College (SUNY), Hamilton College, Hartwick College, Hilbert College, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Hofstra University, Hostos Community College, Ithaca College, Le Moyne College, Lehman College (CUNY), Long Island University, Manhattan College, Manhattanville College, Marist College, Medaille College, Mercy College, Molloy College, Morrisville State College (SUNY), Nassau Community College, Nazareth College of Rochester, New York University, Niagara University, Onondaga Community College, Pace University, Purchase College (SUNY), Queensborough Community College, Rochester Institute of Technology, Sarah Lawrence College, Siena College, Skidmore College, St. John Fisher College, St. John's University, St. Lawrence University, Stella and Charles Guttman Community College (CUNY), Stony Brook University (SUNY), SUNY College at Brockport, Broome Community College (SUNY), Cortland SUNY, Delhi SUNY, Fredonia SUNY, Geneseo SUNY, Polytechnic Institute SUNY, College at Old Westbury, SUNY Oneonta, SUNY Oswego, SUNY Plattsburgh, Syracuse University, The College of Saint Rose, Ulster Community College, Union College, University at Albany (SUNY), University at Buffalo (SUNY), University of Rochester, Wagner College, Wells College

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.