(Posted September 27, 2004)

HUNTINGDON, Pa. -- The Juniata College board of trustees has added two new members to begin the 2004-2005 academic year. The new trustees appointed began their service Sept. 1, 2004 and will serve through August 2007. The trustees are: William P. Hayes, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Kish Bancorp Inc., of State College, Pa.; and John Kuriyan, Chancellor's Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology at the University of California, Berkeley, of Berkeley, Calif.

Hayes is chairman of the board, president and CEO of Kish Bancorp and its subsidiaries Kishacoquillas Valley National Bank, Kish Agency Inc., and Kish Travel Services Inc. Kish Bancorp is a publicly traded financial holding company headquartered in Belleville, Pa. southeast of State College.

Kish Bank is a community bank with $381 million in assets and 10 offices and financial centers in Centre, Huntingdon and Mifflin counties. Kish Bank was the first bank in Pennsylvania to acquire an independent insurance agency. The bank also features an investment and brokerage services division through a partnership with Raymond James Financial Services.

Hayes has been president and CEO since 1993. He started his business career at the bank in 1977 as a management trainee. He was promoted to branch manager and then rose to positions as assistant vice president of branch administration and vice president and senior lending officer.

He served in the U.S. Coast Guard from 1971 to 1975.

He earned a bachelor's degree in American Civilization in 1971 from Lafayette College in Easton, Pa. He went on to become an honors graduate of the Central Atlantic Advanced School of Banking at Bucknell University in 1979. He also earned certifications from the Stonier Graduate School of Banking at Rutgers University in New Brunswick, N.J. in 1983 and completed the ABA-Kellogg Chief Executive Officer Management Program at the Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University in Evanston, Ill.

He served as chairman of the Pennsylvania Bankers Association from 2001 to 2002. He also has served in a number of positions for the American Bankers Association, including the government relations council, communications council, financial and investment services council and the executive committee.

Hayes is active within his community, serving as past chairman of the board of Lewistown Hospital and Lewistown Healthcare Foundation. He chairs the board of directors of Team Mifflin County and the county's Economic Development Task Force. He also serves as a member of the executive committee of the Mifflin County Industrial Development Corporation. He also has held executive positions with local organizations such as Mifflin County Heritage, United Way of Mifflin-Juniata counties, the YMCA, and Rotary.

John Kuriyan, a native of India, graduated from Juniata College in 1981, earning a bachelor's degree in chemistry. He went on to earn a doctorate in physical chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1986.

He left MIT to work at Harvard University as a postdoctoral researcher from 1986 to 1987. He was hired as a research assistant professor at The Rockefeller University in New York, N.Y. in 1987. He was promoted to associate professor in 1992 and was promoted to full professor and was named Patrick and Beatrice Haggerty Professor in 1993.
He left the Rockefeller University and began work at the University of California, Berkeley in 2001. In addition to his duties at the University of California, Kuriyan also is a researcher at the Lawrence-Berkeley National Laboratory in the Physical Biosciences Division. He also has served as an investigator for the Howard Hughes Medical Institute since 1993.

Kuriyan was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in 2001, one of five Juniata alumni to be named to this prestigious organization. He also received the Cornelius Rhoads Memorial Award in 1999 from the American Association for Cancer Research. He received the 1998 Eli Lilly Award from the American Chemical Society and the 1997 DuPont-Merck Award from the Protein Society.

He received the Walter Johnson Prize from the editors of the Journal of Molecular Biology in 1992 and served as Pew Scholar in Biomedical Sciences from 1989 to 1993. He is a member of the Board of Scientific Counselors at the national cancer Institute and a member of the board of trustees for Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

He also serves on the editorial boards for the journals Structure, Cell, European Journal of Biochemistry, Quarterly Review of Biophysics and Advances in Protein Chemistry.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.