(Posted April 3, 2006)

Huntingdon, PA - Juniata College placed 28 athletes on the Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletic Corporation (MAC) Academic Honor Roll for the winter sports season. To be eligible for the award a student-athlete must be a sophomore, junior or senior; have a minimum 3.20 cumulative grade-point average and have completed the winter sports season in good standing on their team.

Juniata's 28 honor roll selections were the sixth-most honorees among the conference institutions. The Eagles had at least one representative from each of the five varsity sports that compete in the winter.

Juniata's men's indoor track team led the way with 9 honor roll selections. Seniors Patrick Filamore (International School/ Manila, Philappines), Adam Loser (Central York/York), Gary Ondecko Jr (Bishop Carroll/ Northern Cambria) and Mike Vella (Hollidaysburg/Hollidaysburg) all claimed the honor in their final seasons. Randy Anderson (Dubois/Dubois) and Mike Chirdon (Verona/Riverview) represented the junior class and Ryan Conrad (Waynesboro/Waynesboro), Mark Modak (Sandy Spring Friends/Gaithersburg, MD) and Shawn Rumery (Thornton Academy/Dayton, ME) were all Honor Roll members from the sophomore class.

The Eagles' women's indoor track team claimed six honorees, tied for the second-most of any Juniata program this winter. Debbie Delaney (Franklin/Reisertown, MD), Katey Glunt (Bellefonte/Bellefonte), Nancy Hayes (Westminster/Westminster) and Jen Marshalek (Montoursville/Montoursville) were the four senior members to claim the honors. Laurn Gates (Bishop Guuilfoyle/Altoona) nabbed an honor roll spot during her junior seasons. The remaining selection was sophomore Adrienne Beckman (Los Alamos/Los Alamos, NM) who earned the honors.

Women's basketball also placed six players on the Honor Roll, including all of their seniors. Kristen Kirk (Newport/Newport), Katie O'Brien (Southwester/Hanover) and Lesley Snoby (Johnstown/Johnstown) all received honor roll status following their senior seasons. Sophomores Katie Rhoads (Hempfield/Landisville), Mindy Werner (West York/York) and Jess Winemiller (Dallastown/York) all received the honor for the first time.
Juniata's men's basketball team ended the year with four honors. Chris Jasiota (Oil City/Oil City) was the lone Junior to claim the honor, while sophomores Garrett Bull (Red Lion/Red Lion), Kyle Opitz (Pine-Richland/Gibsonia) and James Preuss (Conemaugh Valley/Conemaugh) were also selected.

Rounding out Juniata's selections to the team were seniors Kim Dierolf (Boyertown/Boyertown) and Amy Hanson (Lancaster Catholic/Elizabethtown) and junior Amy Sutherland (Norwich/Norwich, NY) who represented the Juniata women's swim team.


Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.