(Posted May 18, 2007)

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Juniata College women\'s volleyball team has earned another honor as a result of the team\'s NCAA Division III National Championship as the United State House of Representatives overwhelming passed Congressman Bill Shuster\'s resolution to honor the team on May 14. \"Today, the House voted to honor the players of the Juniata College women\'s volleyball team for their extraordinary display of sportsmanship, teamwork and perseverance,\" Shuster said. \"I am proud to have been able to play a small role in commemorating their outstanding championship season. They certainly deserve it.\" Juniata earned the second national championship in program history with a thrilling 3-2 victory over Washington University (Mo.) in the NCAA championship match. The victory gave Juniata a final record of 41-1, matching the program record for fewest losses in season. Sophomore Amber Thomas (Conestoga Valley/Ephrata) was named the NCAA Tournament Most Valuable player while senior Stephanie Kines (Towson/Towson, Md.) and sophomore Beth Kozak (Huntingdon/Huntingdon) were each named to the All-Tournament Team. The season saw Juniata go undefeated against Division III competition with the team\'s only loss coming at the hands of Division I Princeton University. In addition, Kines became the second player in program history to be recognized as the American Volleyball Coaches Association Division III Player of the Year. \"We are pleased and grateful that Congressman Shuster is honoring our women\'s volleyball team and Coach Larry Bock with this resolution,\" says Thomas R. Kepple Jr., the President of Juniata College. \"This group of hard-working student-athletes exemplify the values that come from participating at a high level in college athletics.\" Over the 30 years of its existence the Juniata women\'s volleyball team has enjoyed remarkable success. The team has a record of 1,110-172 over 30 seasons with two NCAA Championships to its credit. Head Coach Larry Bock is the winningest coach in the history of NCAA women\'s volleyball with his record of 1,100-172. Juniata is the only program to appear in all 26 NCAA Division III Tournaments, and finally earned the program\'s first national championship in 2004 with a 3-0 win over Washington. \"Today\'s vote places the team\'s victorious season in the history books of the House of Representatives,\" Shuster added. \"Their hard work will always be remembered.\" Congressman Shuster recognized each member of the Juniata women\'s volleyball team: Erin Albert (Philipsburg-Osceola/Philipsburg), Brittany Carr (Titusville/Titusville), Cassie Dickmann (Unionville/Kennett Square), Kristi Fitzsimmons (Diamond Ranch, Pomona, Calif.), Jess Fox (Cochranton/Meadville), Paige Johnston (Hempfield/Lancaster), Stephanie Kines, Beth Kozak, Megan Lamens (Berlin Brothersvalley/Schellsburg), Mariel Little (Walled Lake Central/Commerce, Mich.), Michelle Morchesky (Hempfield/Greensburg), Aly Pompeani (Hopewell/Aliquippa), Jessica Ritchey (Greencastle-Antrim/Greencastle), Rachael Schatz (West Perry/Elliotsburg), Megan Sollenberger (Cumberland Valley/Mechanicsburg), Molly Sollenberger (Cumberland Valley/Mechanicsburg) and Amber Thomas. Head Coach Larry Bock, and assistant coaches Heather Pavlik, Casey Dale (Cochranton/Cochranton) and Erin Dodson (Altoona/Altoona) were also recognized. ###

Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.