(Posted November 21, 2007)

HUNTINGDON, Pa. - Four Juniata College student-athletes have been named to the Landmark Conference's Fall 2007 All-Academic Team, which was released Tuesday. Two male and two female student-athletes from each of the eight Landmark Conference institutions were selected for the team, which honors athletes who have excelled athletically and academically. Nominees may compete in any of the Landmark Conference fall sports, and must have at least sophomore standing and a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or better. Juniata College selections to the Landmark All-Academic Team are: Matt Bailey (East Petersburg, Pa./Hempfield), Men's Cross Country, Soph., POE: Biochemistry Bailey was a first team All-Landmark Conference performer with a third place finish in the Landmark Conference Cross Country Championships. He was Juniata's top finisher in all but two meets in 2007, and recorded the highest GPA of any Juniata fall student-athlete. Bryan Hess (Hanover, Pa./South Western), Men's Soccer, Jr., POE: Biology
A first team All-Landmark Conference selection, Hess was Juniata's leader in goals (7) and points (15). He also ranked seventh and ninth in the Landmark Conference in goals per game and points per game respectively. Beth Kozak (Huntingdon, Pa./Huntingdon Area), Women's Volleyball, Jr., POE: Educational studies w/ secondary emphasis in psychology
Kozak was both a first team All-Landmark Conference selection as well as an American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Second team All-American, for her role as starting setter on a Juniata squad that won the Landmark title and advanced to the NCAA semifinals. Kozak was also a third team selection on the CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District squad. Amanda Wimer (Quarryville, Pa./Solanco), Field Hockey, Sr., POE: Business & Art
Amanda anchored a defense that helped the Juniata field hockey team claim the Landmark Conference championship. She earned Second team All-Landmark Conference honors, and helped the Eagles reach the regional final round of the NCAA tournament - posting the first NCAA tournament victories in program history.
Member institutions of the Landmark Conference are: Catholic University of America, Drew University, Goucher College, Juniata College, Moravian College, Susquehanna University, University of Scranton, and the United States Merchant Marine Academy. -30-

Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.