(Posted March 12, 2008)

HUNTINGDON, Pa. -- The Juniata College field hockey team has been presented a 2007 Division III National Academic Team Award by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA), as one of 83 Division III programs to post a team grade points average (GPA) of 3.00 or higher.

Juniata was one of six teams in the Landmark Conference to be selected for the honor, along with Catholic University, Drew University, Goucher College, Moravian College, and Susquehanna University.

In addition, 10 members of the Eagle field hockey team were selected as individual members of the NFHCA's Division III National Academic Squad. Those players are: Sarah Blake (Brunswick, Maine/Brunswick), Michelle Campbell (Annville, Pa./Northern Lebanon), Ashleigh Ehnts (Glenside, Pa./Bishop McDevitt), Abby Funk (Lewisburg, Pa./Lewisburg), Carolyn Gibson (Mohnton, Pa./Governor Mifflin), Melissa Gorman (Boxborough, Mass./Acton-Boxborough), Paula Price (Camp Hill, Pa./East Pennsboro), Erin Smith (Palmyra, Pa./Palmyra), Leslie Stern (Felton, Pa./Red Lion), and Amanda Wimer (Quarryville, Pa./Solanco).

Juniata completed its 2007 season with a 21-3 record, setting a new program record for wins. The Eagles received an at-large berth in the NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship, the program's third NCAA appearance, defeating Johns Hopkins and defending national champion Ursinus College before bowing out against Lebanon Valley College in the regional final.


Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.