(Posted November 11, 2008)

HUNTINGDON, Pa. -- Four Juniata College women's soccer players have been recognized as All-Landmark Conference performers, when the Landmark Conference post-season honors and all-conference teams were announced on Tuesday.

Junior defender Melissa Johnson (Colonia, N.J./John F. Kennedy) was the lone Juniata players named First team All-Landmark Conference. Johnson anchored an Eagle defensive unit that allowed just 14 goals over 16 games, and allowed a league-low 71 shots on goal at Juniata keepers.

Sophomore forward Caitlin Bigelow (La Mesa, Calif./Academy of Our Lady of Peace) earned Second team All-Landmark Conference honors, along with junior midfielder Laura Goodlander (Etters, Pa./Red Land) and junior midfielder Shannon Pierce (Gilbertsville, Pa./Boyertown).

Bigelow led the Eagles in scoring with nine goals and two assist for 20 points, including game-winning goals over Susquehanna University, Lycoming College, Saint Vincent College, and Keystone College. She currently stands fourth in the conference in total points, and is tied for fourth in goals. She had two goals and two assists against Landmark opponents.

Goodlander is a Second team All-Landmark selection for the second consecutive season, after finishing with one goal and four assists for six points. She had one goal and one assist versus conference foes.

Pierce was second on the team in scoring with five goals and one assist for 11 points, with the game-winning goal in Juniata's 2-0 win over regionally-ranked Gettysburg College â?" the first win over a regionally-ranked opponent in program history. She had a goal and an assist in Landmark Conference play.

Juniata completed its season with a 9-6-1 record, its third straight campaign with a winning record. The Eagles qualified for the Landmark Conference Tournament for the second year in a row, falling to Moravian, 2-0, in the Landmark tournament semifinals.

Moravian's Tracy Fitzpatrick was the league's Offensive Player of the Year, while Drew's Ann Mularz took Defensive Player of the Year honors and Moravian's Arielle Caldas was Rookie of the Year. The Moravian College staff headed by Eric Lambinus was named Landmark Coaching Staff of the Year.

Rounding out the first team are: F Kelly Donnelly (Catholic), F Tracy Fitzpatrick (Moravian), F Eileen Sodano (Scranton), M Elyse Bellardini (Catholic), M Emily MacPhee (Scranton), M Chelsea Paskman (Scranton), M Diana Spadaro (Catholic), D Katelyn Killea (Moravian), D Helene Nicoletti (Catholic), G Caitlin Corrigan (Moravian), and G Ann Mularz (Drew).

Additional Second team All-Landmark players are: F Abby Montgomery (Susquehanna), F Suzie Peters (Catholic), F Sisley Pumilia (Goucher), M Cailin McGrorry (Drew), D Emily Boyce (Scranton), D Kelly Davitt (Susquehanna), D Alexandria Frascella (Moravian), D Kim Miranowic (Drew), and G Meredith Tompeck (Susquehanna).


Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.