(Posted November 13, 2008)

HUNTINGDON, Pa. -- Freshman back Meghan McGlone (Coopersburg, Pa./Southern Lehigh) was named the Landmark Conference Field Hockey Rookie of the Year, and four others were named to All-Landmark Conference teams, when the conference's field hockey post-season honors and all-conference teams were released.

McGlone tallied two goals and two assists for six points and had three defensive saves this season, for a Juniata squad that finished 9-12 and captured its second consecutive Landmark Conference Field Hockey Championship.

Senior midfielder Erin Smith (Palmyra, Pa./Palmyra) and McGlone were both named First team All-Landmark Conference, while sophomore forward Paula Price (Camp Hill, Pa./East Pennsboro) and senior goalie Abby Funk (Lewisburg, Pa./Lewisburg) were both Second team All-Landmark selections.

Smith finished with six goals and four assists for 16 points, and earned all-conference honors for the first time in her collegiate career. Price earned second team honors for the second year in a row, after leading the Eagles in scoring with six goals and five assists for 17 points. Funk also received a nod on the second team for the second straight year; she completed her senior campaign with 72 saves against 26 goals allowed for a 1.34 goals against average and a .735 save percentage.


Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.