(Posted March 3, 2009)

HUNTINGDON, Pa. -- Juniata College junior guard Jeff Berkey (Stoystown, Pa./Shanksville-Stonycreek) was the lone Juniata representative on the All-Landmark Conference men's basketball teams, which were announced Tuesday.

Berkey was a Second team All-Conference honoree, after averaging 13.3 points and 2.3 rebounds this season. He was tied for seventh in the league in scoring, and was second in the Landmark in free throw shooting with a .841 (58-69) percentage at the line. Berkey was also fourth in the conference in three-point field goals made (2.20/g), and seventh in three-point shooting percentage (.399).

Berkey recorded 17 double-digit scoring performances in 2008-09, including six 20-point games. He scored a career-high 29 points in Juniata's 79-75 win overtime win over Drew University, a performance that earned Berkey Landmark Conference Player of the Week and ECAC Division III South Region Player of the Week honors.

Juniata finished the season with a 7-18 mark, 5-9 in the Landmark Conference, and were tied for fifth place in the league standings.

The complete All-Landmark Conference team is listed below:

First Team
G-Zach Ashworth, Scranton, So., Doylestown, Pa. (Central Bucks West)
F-Jason Banzhaf, Catholic, So., Livingston, N.J. (Seton Hall Prep.)
G-Tom Izzo, USMMA, So., Bridgeport, W.V. (Bridgeport)
F-Joel Patch, Susquehanna, Sr., Conklin, N.Y. (Susquehanna Valley)
G-Ryan FitzPatrick, Scranton, Sr., Berwyn, Pa. (Conestoga)
G-Spenser Spencer, Susquehanna, Fr., Seattle, Wash. (Lakeside)

Second Team
F-Paul Biagioli, Scranton, Sr., Waverly, Pa. (Abington Heights)
G-Jeff Berkey, Juniata, Jr., Stoystown, Pa. (Shanksville-Stonycreek)
G-Darrin Boswell II, Goucher, Sr., Nottingham, Md. (Joppatowne)
F-Matt Hueber, USMMA, So., Alexandria, Va. (Gonzaga College)
G-Ryan Samuel, USMMA, Jr., Cedar Hill, Texas (Cedar Hill)
G-Maurice Young, Moravian, So., Philadelphia, Pa. (Chestnut Hill Academy)

Player of the Year: Joel Patch, Susquehanna
Defensive Player of the Year: Bryan Majors, Susquehanna
Rookie of the Year: Spenser Spencer, Susquehanna
Coaching Staff of the Year: Susquehanna University


Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.