(Posted February 27, 2010)

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- The Juniata College men's and women's track and field teams each finished third at the 2010 Landmark Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships, held Saturday at Susquehanna University's Garrett Sports Complex.

The Eagle men's team amassed 104 points, trailing eventual champion Moravian College with 215 points and Susquehanna University with 143 points. On the women's side, Juniata tallied 58 points and was well behind the winning team from Moravian with 210 points and second-place Susquehanna with 168 points.

Juniata's Angela Shaffer (Prospect, Pa./Slippery Rock) was named the league's Rookie of the Year for indoor track and field, after winning the high jump and finishing second in the 55m hurdles after posting the fastest time in the preliminaries. Shaffer won the high jump with a mark of 4-11.75 (1.52m), and ran a time of 8.64 seconds in the finals of the 55m hurdles. In heat two of the preliminaries, she logged a time of 8.56 seconds - almost two-tenths of a second better than the eventual finals winner, Moravian's Jessica Posimo.

Shaffer was the only Juniata woman to win an event at Saturday's championships.

Senior Laura Rupprecht (Jefferson, Md./Brunswick) was second in the mile run with a time of 5:21.71, and was fourth in the 800m run in 2:30.78. Juniata's Distance Medley Relay team of Caroline Morgan (Havertown, Pa./Haverford Township), Courtney DeGemmis (Lansdale, Pa./Methacton), Casey Hoffman (Coplay, Pa./Parkland), and Megan McQuillan (Severna Park, Md./Seton Keough) also finished second, with a time of 13:15.41.

In the men's championship Juniata won four events, led by TJ Breya's (McClure, Pa./East Juniata) individual titles in the 55m hurdles and the 400m dash. Breya took the 400 with a time of 51.16 seconds, nearly eight-tenths of the second ahead of second place Warner Jones from Moravian. Breya captured the 55m hurdles with a time of 8.01 seconds. He also finished third in the 200m dash with a time of 23.34 seconds.

Senior Ryan Johnson (Mountain Top, Pa./Crestwood) won the weight throw with throw of 43-1.75 (13.15m).

Juniata's quartet of Ceth Parker (Sabillasville, Md./Catoctin), Alex Shope (Hershey, Pa./Trinity), Ryan Trexler (Altoona, Pa./Altoona), and Matt Bailey (East Petersburg, Pa./Hempfield) won the Distance Medley Relay with a time of 10:53.36. Bailey was second in the 5000m with a time of 15:34.34.

Several Juniata performers finished third in various events: Nik Klena (Franklin, Pa./Oil City) was third in the 800m run with a time of 1:56.4, while Ryan Baird (North Huntingdon, Pa./Norwin) was third in the pole vault after clearing the bar at 14-5.25 (4.40m). Nicholas Bauer (Glen Ridge, N.J./Glen Ridge) was third in the triple jump with a mark of 41-7.25 (12.68m), and Jeremy Boback (Ebensburg, Pa./Central Cambria) was third in the weight throw with a mark of 42-4.25 (12.91m).

Complete 2010 Landmark Indoor Track & Field men's results
Complete 2010 Landmark Indoor Track & Field women's results


Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.