(Posted March 3, 2010)

HUNTINGDON, Pa. -- Juniata College junior forward Jen Hnatuck (Mechanicsburg, Pa./Trinity) and sophomore guard Ashton Bankos (York, Pa./York Catholic) were both named to the All-Landmark Conference women's basketball teams, which were unveiled Wednesday.

Hnatuck, a two-time All-Landmark selection, received First team honors for 2009-10. She has averaged 14.0 points and 8.2 rebounds this season, and has ranked among the league's top five in both categories. She currently ranks 57th in Division III in field goal percentage (.510), and is Juniata's team leader in free-throw percentage (.791) and blocks (21).

She has recorded six double-doubles this season, with a season-high 28 points in a 78-73 loss at home to 19th-ranked Moravian College.

Hnatuck previously earned Second team All-Landmark honors in 2007-08 as a freshman, and was not selected for either squad last season as a junior.

Bankos was tapped for the Landmark's Second team in her first appearance on the all-conference roster.

She has averaged 10.3 points and 4.8 rebounds in 2009-10, and dished out a team high 80 assists; Bankos' 3.1 assists per game put her fourth among Landmark Conference leaders. Bankos anchors a Juniata backcourt that has averaged 15.7 assists per game, and ranked 36th among Division III leaders in that category. She had a season-high 19 points in a 75-70 loss to Gwynedd-Mercy College, and hit her season-high of six assists on three occasions.

Juniata (15-11, 9-5 Landmark) finished third in the Landmark regular season standings, and dropped a Landmark tournament semifinal game at the University of Scranton, 70-62, on February 24. The eight-seeded Eagles open play in the ECAC Division III South Region Tournament on Wednesday night, taking on top-seed Delaware Valley College at 7:00 p.m. at the James Work Gymnasium in Doylestown, Pa.

The complete All-Landmark Conference women's basketball teams are below:

2009-10 All-Landmark Conference Women's Basketball Team

First Team

G-Danielle Barber, Drew, So., Cape May Courthouse, N.J. (Middle Twp.)
G-Jess Foran, Moravian, Sr., Annandale, N.J. (Rutgers Prep)
G-Kate Harrison, Moravian, Sr., Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y. (Cold Spring Harbor)
F-Jen Hnatuck, Juniata, Jr., Mechanicsburg, Pa. (Trinity)
G-Megan Kopecki, Scranton, Jr., Millington, N.J. (Watchung Hills Regional)
F-Kirsty Stearns, Moravian, Sr., East Norwich, N.Y. (Oyster Bay)

Second Team
G-Ashton Bankos, Juniata, So., York, Pa. (York Catholic)
G-Rebecca Grimes, USMMA, Jr., Fairfax, Va. (Paul VI Catholic)
G-Rachael Hughes, Susquehanna, Jr., Gordon, Pa. (North Schuylkill)
G-Ryan Mooney, Scranton, Sr., Spring City, Pa. (Pius X)
F-Brianna Peterson, Catholic, Jr., Garnerville, N.Y. (North Rockland)
F-Amber Smith, Goucher, Sr., Baltimore, Md. (Institute of Notre Dame)

Player of the Year: Megan Kopecki, Scranton
Defensive Player of the Year: Brooke Picillo, USMMA
Rookie of the Year: Jill Woerner, Catholic
Coaching Staff of the Year: Moravian College (Head Coach Mary Beth Spirk)


Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.