(Posted October 30, 2010)

Complete Landmark Conference Cross Country Championships results and awards

TOWSON, Md. -- Juniata College men's cross country finished second out of eight teams while the women were third out of seven at the 2010 Landmark Conference Cross Country Championships, held Saturday morning at Goucher College.

Junior Ceth Parker (Sabillasville, Md./Catoctin) finished fifth overall with a time of 27:26.40, while senior Steve Schmitt (New Providence, Pa./Solanco) was sixth in 27:26.80. Both earned First team All-Landmark honors - a first for Schmitt, while Parker earned the second first-team award of his cross country career.

Freshman Nate Alter (Pittsburgh, Pa./Taylor Allderdice) was Juniata's third finisher, 13th overall, and earned Second team All-Landmark Conference honors after completing the 8K course in a time of 28:02.80.

Junior Nik Klena (Franklin, Pa./Oil City) was 18th overall with a time of 28:33.50, while junior Jon Pfadenhauer (Old Westbury, N.Y./The Wheatley School) was 19th in 28:35.10.

Senior Kenny Goodfellow (Duncansville, Pa./Hollidaysburg) was 27th with a time of 28:59.30, while freshman Pete Mullins (Verona, Pa./Penn Hills) was 40th in 29:39.50.

Juniata finished with 61 points, trailing a Susquehanna squad that claimed its fourth consecutive Landmark crown with 38 points. Moravian College was third with 70 points, while the University of Scranton was fourth with 100 points. Goucher College (143), Merchant Marine (165), Drew University (196), and Catholic University (199) rounded out the field.

Moravian junior Matt Lutcza was named Landmark Men's Cross Country Runner of the Year after running a course record time of 26:46.40 to win the individual title, while Susquehanna's Brandon Mash was named Rookie of the Year. The Susquehanna staff was named Coaching Staff of the Year.

In the women's 6K championship, sophomore Caroline Morgan (Havertown, Pa./Haverford Township) was the top Juniata finisher with a time of 24:16.50. She finished seventh overall, and was the lone Juniata women's runner to earn First team All-Landmark honors.

Freshman Katrina Woods (Shirleysburg, Pa./Mount Union) and junior Jess Koenig (Milford, Pa./Delaware Valley) were named Second team All-Landmark and finished just outside the top seven; Woods was ninth with a time of 24:23.30, while Koenig was 10th in a time of 24:28.20.

Juniata's next two runners were further back in the field. Senior Megan McQuillan (Severna Park, Md./Seton Keough) was 29th in 26:01.60, while freshman Alyssa Grube was 30th with a mark of 26:08.10. Senior Anne Wakabayashi (El Cajon, Calif./Acad. of Our Lady of Peace) was 35th (26:13.70), and junior Casey Hoffman (Coplay, Pa./Parkland) placed 40th in 26:35.40.

Juniata garnered 85 points and finished behind the University of Scranton in second place with 74 points, despite three Juniata runners finishing ahead of Scranton's second runner in the field. Susquehanna finished with 51 points, to win its second Landmark championship in the last three seasons.

Goucher College was fourth with 87 points, just two points behind Juniata. Moravian (92), Catholic (101) and Merchant Marine (204) rounded out the fifth through seventh spots.

Susquehanna senior Alycia Woodruff ran a course record 23:04.70 to win the individual title and claim Landmark Women's Cross Country Runner of the Year honors, while Goucher's Kelsey Myette was named Rookie of the Year. The Susquehanna coaching staff was named Landmark Women's Cross Country Coaching Staff of the Year.

Juniata will have a week off to prepare for the NCAA Mideast Regional meet, which will take place Saturday, Nov. 13, at the Cooper's Lake Campground in Slippery Rock, Pa.


Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.