(Posted November 9, 2010)

HUNTINGDON, Pa. -- Juniata College junior libero Libby Morrison (Portland, Ore./Oregon Episcopal School) claimed at least a share of two Landmark Conference individual awards while freshman Courtney Greenberg (Fort Myers, Fla./Fort Myers) claimed a third as the Landmark Conference released the All-Landmark teams Tuesday afternoon.

Morrison was named Co-Player of the Year and Specialist of the Year after a stellar first year as a member of the Juniata women's volleyball squad. She has averaged 5.08 digs per set, 599 total, while serving up 60 aces this season, leading the Eagles to their fourth straight Landmark title and 30th consecutive conference championship overall.

Morrison shares Landmark Player of the Year honors with Susquehanna University senior outside hitter Lindsay Jankiewicz.

Greenberg was named Rookie of the Year, after a campaign in which she has logged 412 assists, 8.08 per set. She also recorded 18 service aces and 94 digs thus far in her freshman season.

Six Eagles earned a spot on the All-Landmark teams, led by Morrison, senior setter Steph Strauss (Penn Hills, Pa./Penn Hills), senior middle Kristin Noetzel (Closter, N.J./Northern Valley Regional), and sophomore opposite Kelsey Fuller (Red Lion, Pa./Red Lion) on the league's first team.

Freshman outside hitter Amy Miller (Chesapeake, Va./Western Branch) and junior middle Amanda Schmidt (Boswell, Pa./North Star) were both Second team All-Landmark selections.

Strauss has tallied 895 assists, 9.84 per set, through 91 sets played, and has added 168 kills (1.85/set). She has also logged 178 digs (1.96/set) with 31 blocks this season. Noetzel has been Juniata's blocks leader with 84 (0.85/set), while recording 250 kills, an average of 2.53 per set. Her .380 hitting percentage is best among Juniata's starting hitters this season. Fuller has amassed 237 kills this season, or 2.44 per set, with 26 service aces and 247 digs (2.55/set). She has also had a hand in 33 blocks this season.

The hard-hitting Miller played in 77 of Juniata's 123 sets in her first season of collegiate volleyball, and is fourth on the team in kills with 179 (2.32/set). She has also turned up 130 digs while serving 13 aces thus far in 2010. Schmidt has recorded 136 kills (1.66/set) with 40 blocks in her junior campaign, but posted a strong finish to the regular season and has hit averaged closer to two kills per set over her last seven matches played.

The Juniata coaching staff of head coach Larry Bock and associate head coach Heather Pavlik were named Coaching Staff of the Year. Bock's career record is 1,248 wins against 191 losses in his 34th season at the helm of Juniata women's volleyball.

Juniata (30-5) earned its 30th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Division III Women's Volleyball Championship by capturing the 2010 Landmark Conference title on Saturday, Nov. 6, with a 3-0 win over Susquehanna University. The Eagles are the only team to appear in every NCAA Division III women's volleyball tournament. Juniata will face Cabrini College (23-7) on Friday, Nov. 12, at the NCAA Mid-Atlantic Regional hosted by Frostburg State University in Frostburg, Md.

Juniata representatives on the
2010 Women's Volleyball All-Landmark Conference teams

First team

Kelsey Fuller (So., Opp., Red Lion, Pa./Red Lion)
Kristin Noetzel (Sr., MH, Closter, N.J./Northern Valley Regional)
Steph Strauss (Sr., S, Penn Hills, Pa./Penn Hills)
Libby Morrison (Jr., L/DS, Portland, Ore./Oregon Episcopal School)

Second team
Amy Miller (Fr., OH, Chesapeake, Va./Western Branch)
Amanda Schmidt (Jr., MH, Boswell, Pa./North Star)

Co-Player of the Year - Libby Morrison (Jr., L/DS, Portland, Ore./Oregon Episcopal School)
with Lindsay Jankiewicz, Susquehanna (Sr., OH, Easton, Pa./Freedom)
Specialist of the Year - Libby Morrison (Jr., L/DS, Portland, Ore./Oregon Episcopal School)
Rookie of the Year - Courtney Greenberg (Fr., S, Fort Myers, Fla./Fort Myers)
Coaching Staff of the Year - Juniata (Larry Bock, head coach)


Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.