(Posted February 25, 2011)

HUNTINGDON, Pa. -- Juniata College women's basketball had three players receive All-Landmark Conference honors, and Juniata took a share of three of the conference's post-season awards, as the Landmark's post-season awards for women's hoops were announced Friday.

Senior forward Jen Hnatuck (Mechanicsburg, Pa./Trinity) was part of a remarkable three-way tie for Player of the Year honors, sharing the award with the University of Scranton's Megan Kopecki and Moravian College's Amy Heffner. Hnatuck, who was also a First team All-Landmark selection, is averaging 12.4 points and 8.1 rebounds this season. She has seven double-doubles this season, and has scored in double figures in 17 of Juniata's 26 games.

Hnatuck is currently fourth among career points (1,351) and career rebounding (884) leaders. She had a season-high 26 points against Susquehanna University back on December 4, 2010, and currently ranks eighth among Landmark scoring leaders.

Freshman forward Kate McDonald (Pennsylvania Furnace, Pa./State College Area) was named the Landmark's Rookie of the Year and was a Second team All-Landmark honoree. McDonald heads into Saturday's Landmark Conference championship game averaging 10.3 points, and she is Juniata's top rebounder with 8.4 boards per game.

McDonald is third among Landmark rebounding leaders, and is 14th in the league in scoring.

Junior guard Ashton Bankos (York, Pa./York Catholic) also earned a spot on the All-Landmark Second team, after a season in which she averaged 8.7 points and 4.5 rebounds with 3.4 assists per game. Bankos recorded eight double-digit scoring performances in 2010-11, recording a season-high 19 points against both Susquehanna and Saint Vincent College.

The Juniata coaching staff, led by head coach Danny Young-Uhrich, was recognized as the Coaching Staff of the Year. Currently in her eighth season at the helm of Juniata women's basketball, Young-Uhrich has a career record of 111-99. Earlier this season, she became Juniata women's basketball's coaching wins leader, eclipsing the previous mark of 101 set by Nancy Latimore (1977-86). This season, she guided Juniata to the top seed in the Landmark Conference Women's Basketball Tournament, and just the second 20-win season in program history.

Young-Uhrich is assisted by first-year assistant Claudia McDowell, and fourth-year assistant Anne Millar.

Juniata (20-6, 12-2 Landmark) will face Scranton in the Landmark Women's Basketball Tournament championship game on Saturday, Feb. 26, for the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Women's Basketball Championship. Tip-off is scheduled for 2:00 p.m. at the Kennedy Sports + Recreation Center. Tickets are $5 for general admission, $3 for students and senior citizens (62 and older). All students from Landmark Conference schools and children under 10 are admitted free.


First Team

G-Erika Barron, Susquehanna, Sr., Tamaqua, Pa. (Tamaqua Area)
G-Amy Heffner, Moravian, Sr., Schnecksville, Pa. (Parkland)
F-Jen Hnatuck, Juniata, Sr., Mechanicsburg, Pa. (Trinity)
G-Megan Kopecki, Scranton, Sr., Millington, N.J. (Watchung Hills Regional)
F-Emily Smith, Moravian, Sr., East Stroudsburg, Pa. (East Stroudsburg South)
G-Jill Woerner, So., Providence, R.I. (St. Mary's Bayview)

Second Team
G-Ashton Bankos, Juniata, Jr., York, Pa. (York Catholic)
G-Danielle Barber, Drew, Jr., Cape May Courthouse, N.J. (Middle Twp.)
G-Rebecca Grimes, USMMA, Sr., Fairfax, Va. (Paul VI Catholic)
G-Jennifer King, Scranton, Sr., Taylor, Pa. (Riverside)
F-Kate McDonald, Juniata, Fr., Pennsylvania Furnace, Pa. (State College Area)
F-Gina Palazzi, Susquehanna, So., Newfoundland, Pa. (Wallanpaupack)

Tri-Players of the Year: Megan Kopecki, Scranton; Jen Hnatuck, Juniata; Amy Heffner, Moravian
Defensive Player of the Year: Alexandra Blair, Moravian
Rookie of the Year: Kate McDonald, Juniata
Coaching Staff of the Year (Head Coach): Juniata College (Danny Young-Uhrich)


Our readers respond...

Be the first to provide a response.

Contact April Feagley at feaglea@juniata.edu or (814) 641-3131 for more information.